Your Strong Criminal Defense in Nevada
SE HABLA ESPAÑOL 702.866.9864

Nevada Sex Offender Registration Laws

In Nevada, any sex crime conviction will include mandatory registration to sex offender databases. You could be convicted for indecent exposure, prostitution, rape, possessing child pornography, and so on and the outcome will always include mandatory sex offender registration. The type of crime that led to the registration, however, does affect what tier you will be placed on.

The four tiers of Nevada’s sex offender registry are:

  • No risk: Level 0 includes individuals that the state believe pose no chance of recidivism and never harmed anyone with their behavior.
  • Low risk: Level 1 offenders are those with very low likelihood to repeat their offenses and who caused no physical harm to victims of their convicted crime.
  • Moderate risk: Level 2 sex offenders are considered to be able of recidivism if tempted to do so and may have caused harm to victims, emotionally or physically. Level 2 sex offenders appear on public lists and may have their information inspected without a warrant.
  • High risk: Level 3 sex offenders are considered to be the most dangerous to Nevada law enforcement, caused significant harm in their convicted crime, and are very likely to repeat their offenses without provocation. Level 3 sex offenders also appear on public lists and may need to inform communities of their offenses when they move into a new neighborhood.

Specific Rules for Sex Offenders

The Nevada Department of Public Safety Parole and Probation division require registered sex offenders to register their names to necessary lists no later than 48 hours after establishing residence within a county or incorporated city. If a sex offender moves to another address within the same county or city, they must update their new address within 48 hours of moving in. Additionally, a registered sex offender must annually reregister on the date they were first required to register; reregistration can be required for only a few years, or for a lifetime, depending on the judge’s sentencing.

To reregister to a sex offender list, the convicted person must provide:

  • Set of their fingerprints
  • Photograph of their current self
  • Name, age, and sex
  • Occupation and place of employment
  • Driver’s license information
  • Anything else required by the court

Failing to register or reregister constitutes a crime in Nevada law. Penalties for failing to meet these strict standards can sometimes be harsher than the initial criminal penalties that led to the registration in the first place.

If you need to protect yourself from being placed on a sex offender list, or if you are charged with failing to register, the Law Office of David R. Fischer can provide tenacious and trial-tested legal representation. Call 702.866.9864 or contact our Las Vegas criminal defense attorney online to start with a complimentary case analysis.

Categories: