The age of consent is defined as the minimum age of a person who can legally
consent to have sexual intercourse with another individual.
In Nevada, the age of consent for heterosexual conduct is 16 years old.
On the other hand, the age of consent for homosexual conduct is 18. Nevada
is one of few state that has explicitly permitted homosexual conduct by
establishing an age of consent for this type of action.
While it is illegal to have sexual intercourse without someone less than
16 years of age in Nevada, there are certain situations that make it allowable
for one or both partners—who are below the age of consent—to
have sex. So as long as both partners are under the age of 18, and they
are reasonably close to the same age, it is unlikely that the crime of
statutory rape would be charged.
If a defendant is under 21 years of age, then Nevada courts punish statutory
rape as only a gross misdemeanor, resulting in a maximum jail sentence
of 364 days and fines of up to $2,000. If a defendant is 21 or older,
statutory rape is prosecuted as a category C felony, punishable by a maximum
prison sentence of five years and fines of up to $10,000.
However, if you are accused of statutory rape in Nevada, our
Las Vegas criminal defense attorney at the
Law Office of David R. Fischer can help you. We can evaluate the circumstances of your case and determine
all of your legal options to either reduce your charges or get your entire
If you have been charged with statutory rape,
contact us and schedule a
free consultation today.