While a first-time
DUI conviction considered a misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence up
to six months and a maximum fines of $1,000, the penalties are even harsher
if someone suffers an injury or dies as a result of a drunk driver’s actions.
In Nevada, the legal definition of DUI causing injury or death applies
when an intoxicated driver “proximately causes substantial bodily
harm to, or the death of, another individual.” Even if the motorist
doesn’t appear to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, they
can still be arrested for DUI causing injury or death in the state as
long as their BAC is .08 or over.
DUI causing injury or death is considered a category B felony, which is
punishable by a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 years and a fine
between $2,000 and $5,000. If a defendant is found guilty of DUI causing
injuries while transporting a child under 15 years of age at the time
of the violation, the court may consider it an aggravating factor when
determining prison time and any fines.
How a Las Vegas Criminal Defense Lawyer Can Help
Getting arrested for a DUI with injury or death in Nevada is a frightening
and stressful experience. However, you are presumed innocent and that
the prosecution may be unable to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.
Law Office of David R. Fischer can investigate your arrest and collect evidence to develop an effective
and personalized defense strategy for your case. Do not hesitate to get
the experienced legal help necessary to get your life back on track.
If you were arrested and charged with a DUI in Nevada,
request a free consultation from our Las Vegas
criminal defense lawyer at the Law Office of David R. Fischer today.