As of November 8th, 2016, marijuana became legal for recreational use by adults in Nevada.
Recreational sales began on July 1st, 2017. Adults who are 21 years of age or older are allowed to consume,
purchase, and cultivate up to one ounce of marijuana and can grow up to
six marijuana plants at a time or no more than 12 plants per household.
Law Office of David R. Fischer, our
Las Vegas criminal defense attorney has been contacted with many questions regarding recreational marijuana.
The following are some answers to the most common questions we hear from
Question: Where can I purchase marijuana in Las Vegas?
Answer: In Clark County, up to 80 recreational licenses for dispensaries, as well
as cultivation and production facilities, will be allowed to sell marijuana
for 18 months once permits are distributed by the state. Most dispensaries
can be found in highly public areas such as Las Vegas and Reno.
Question: What do I need to purchase marijuana?
Answer: As long as you have a valid identification card (Nevada or out-of-state)
and you are at least 21 years old, you can purchase cannabis.
Question: Where can I smoke cannabis?
Answer: You can only consume or smoke marijuana at a private residence. All public
places—such as casinos, hotels, bars, parks, campgrounds, etc.—will
be off-limits. The penalty for consuming or smoking marijuana in public
is a fine of up to $600.
Question: Can I operate a vehicle after using marijuana?
Answer: Similar to alcohol, police can pull you over if they suspect you’re
impaired. A marijuana DUI is punishable by jail time, fines, and license
suspension. In addition, passengers are also not allowed to consume or
smoke marijuana in a vehicle.
Question: Can I bring marijuana purchased in Nevada out of state?
Answer: Cannabis remains illegal under federal law. If you happen to bring marijuana
on a plane, TSA will alert local authorities.
For more information,
contact our Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer at the Law Office of David R. Fischer today.